Progress by any other name

So Little Miss comes into my home office this morning with several screws in her hand. “I see some nails!” she announces.

I take them from her with thanks, assuming my husband left some out in the living room last time we were putting up pictures or something.

Several minutes later, she comes in the office and pulls a chair up, clanking a bunch of hardware onto the tabletop. With a raised brow, I ask her where she got those about the time the lightbulb goes off: it’s all the metal pulls, etc. from the entertainment center in the living room. All of them. Totally disassembled. “Oh, they’re all broken!” she says with a smile.

“I see that. Can we go put them back in?”

She giggles, and blissfully spends the next ten minutes reconstructing the thing. “I fixed it!” she says.

Indeed. The beginning of the end of the safety of every remaining piece of furniture in the house. Dare I hope she’ll grow up to be a carpenter? They have a great union. She can take care of me in my gray-haired old age. Which at this rate may be next week.

Please take a moment if you have a spare one, and come visit me at the Carnival of Family Life, hosted by the Modern Sage/Practical Living Blog, where a whole bunch of us have articles on family, humor, finance and many other topics.

5 thoughts on “Progress by any other name

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Susan Kishner

  2. Okay, I give up. What’s the Carnival? What’s ModernSage/Practical Living Blog? I dutifully went to both those sites, but uummmm, I’m feelin’ dumb.

  3. Don’t feel dumb! Heck, I’m learning new stuff all the time! Wikipedia defines blog carnival as:

    A blog carnival is a type of blog event. It is similar to a magazine, in that it is dedicated to a particular topic, and is published on a regular schedule, often weekly or monthly. Each edition of a blog carnival is in the form of a blog article that contains permalinks links to other blog articles on the particular topic.

    I understand one of the purposes of a blog carnival is to expose your blog (in a purely decent way) to readers who might otherwise not find your writing. So I go to the Blog Carnival site and read down the list and find an upcoming carnival that suits one of my topics. Then I submit a link of a particular post that matches the theme of the carnival. if it’s accepted, then it’s posted there and you get a bunch of hits from readers of that edition. You meet some nice folk, too!

  4. I was caught off guard one day when Bear came in with the pin out of the hinge from our front door! I am sure disassembling furniture is right around the corner.

Comments are closed.