Time keeps on slipping, slipping, slipping…

It’s no use reminding yourself daily that you are mortal: it will be brought home to you soon enough.

~~~~~Albert Camus

And so it was, that as the spring days passed, the celebrities, too, began to pass like falling rain (many of them from mysterious brain hemorrhages, suddenly, which is a little creepy, but a subject for another day). Seems we’ve started to lose many of the folk who peopled the big and little screen in my era, which is always food for thoughts of mortality and the passing of time.

But add to that, the much closer reality of the recent deaths of two women I have been close to over the years in this community.

Judith was a delightful, warm woman who added Southern charm and wisdom to every contact we had.

Mary Lee was a spiritual guide of sorts for me, a replacement mother figure, and the person to whom my first book was dedicated, as she gave me “permission” to chase my dreams.

Both died after particularly debilitating diseases that I hadn’t known about, because in recent times we hadn’t had much contact.

But all these losses bring focus to the fact that time is passing, and we are all inevitably getting older and closer to those final moments.

Have I done everything I’ve intended for my life? Have I met some randomly set standard–and whose standard counts? What can I do to make whatever days I have left meaningful and important?

Certainly food for thought as I look toward the future.



3 thoughts on “Time keeps on slipping, slipping, slipping…

  1. sorry to hear of the loss of your friends… please don’t beat yourself up too hard for not staying in close contact. you’ve had your hands full, and i’m quite certain they understood. but it does give one pause when we reach the point where we are burying our own friends, and not those of our parents… take care.

Comments are closed.