No more resolutions

“Cheers to a new year and another chance for us to get it right.”

— Oprah Winfrey

I have been consumed this past month with so many projects in addition to my usual work, once the madness of NaNoWriMo wrapped up: the Captain’s adventures on the road to mental health, covering my office while my secretary trained for her new part-time job elsewhere, the business of being a grandmother and sewing all those little doll clothes. And a Chicago Cubs blanket.

Even as I drag myself along into 2010, weary from the events, I am not displeased with my holidays. M and her family are here from Florida (What? you ask. In December?? Shouldn’t that go the other direction?! But then she always was contrary.) and we’ve had a nice week-long visit–perhaps the last for some time, as she expects their Navy brood will be transferred overseas in the coming year. The American Girl style doll clothes were a hit, enough for five girls and their dolls. We’ve had family, fun, food, and I’ve earned the exhaustion. All the same, I wouldn’t change it.

I know it’s the season for resolutions, but I think I’ve moved past those. After 50-odd years, you should know yourself pretty well. If you’re going to change, you will; swearing to an extreme on the first day of the year doesn’t necessarily make it happen.

And, for all intents and purposes, I’m not terribly unhappy with the sort of person I am. Sure, I should exercise more. I should lose some weight. I should be a better parent and grandmother. I pray I can do all those things, as well as really apply myself to writing, which I truly enjoy. I also hope I can do all those things in my own time and with joy, not setting myself to fail and then beating myself up when I don’t succeed.

So I wish for all of you the same: a year when you can become exactly what you want to become, to be with those you want to be with, to do the things you enjoy, and the opportunity, indeed, to get it right.

3 thoughts on “No more resolutions

  1. i like your approach – no major shifts in lifestyle, we just need some tweaking and tuning in the direction we want to go… happy new year to you, the cabana boy and the entire clan! onward!

Comments are closed.