Letting go

Today I had a plan. We were going to get up, get to point A, continue to point B, and be ready for several other events at yet a third location.

But I’ve taken on two other adults for this trip, and I’ve decided I must let go of my Nazi tactics gentle plans. As a result we got a trip through the Grand Tetons and Yellowstone I’d never have anticipated. Letting go is a good thing.

First we went up through Jackson Hole, a very pretty little town:

outside Jackson Hole

outside Jackson Hole

The Tetons are often featured in travel layouts and tv, and the mountain range is striking.

picturesque Tetons

picturesque Tetons

We stopped in the park for a picnic lunch, then all the kids took a walk down to the Snake River.

picnic!

picnic!

Yummy mangoes!

Yummy mangoes!

We spent the rest of the day drooling over the beautiful scenery as we moved from Teton to Yellowstone, where we arrived just in time for:

Old Faithful

Old Faithful

Fantastic. And all because I let things happen as they would.  Lovely traveling companions, lovely surroundings–it’s been a great day.

I have to admit, there was one sad moment when we left Yellowstone through the east entrance and saw so much damage from fires of years past.

Only half of these trees are alive..whether from fire or insect damage. A good wind will blow them down and devastate whole mountainsides.

Only half of these trees are alive..whether from fire or insect damage. A good wind will blow them down and devastate whole mountainsides.

6 thoughts on “Letting go

Comments are closed.