Veni, vidi, wiki

I have wikied.

In broad daylight, once. But mostly under cover of night.

My new skill for the week *insert fanfare of trumpets here* is that I have become one of the thousands–nay, MILLIONS– of authors of Wikipedia.

A few posts ago, I referenced Maquis Universal, a science fiction RPG of which I’ve been a member for 10 years, and as one celebratory factor of  our group’s anniversary, our webmistress has created our very own wiki.

Now while I have several educational degrees, and I am over 50 years old, and I am married to a computer sciences instructor, the most I know about hypertext markup language (HTML) is that if you put an i in brackets and then minus it after a word it makes italic. Yay. (So all of you who can design your own webpages, I’m jealous!)

Fortunately, the wiki system is set up along the lines of WordPress blogs and MySpace: We Cater To Idiots Since Dummies Have their Own Books.  With a little template design by the Webmistress, I have now been able to enter characters of mine. I designed and entered the page for ships. I uploaded histories and treaties.  I R Teh Interwebz!

At least my particular tube works, anyway.  Thank you, Senator Stevens.

Now that I’m registered, apparently I can read any entry in Wikipedia and make corrective changes.  I have expanded my world and increased my power. Yea, verily, it is good.

5 thoughts on “Veni, vidi, wiki

Comments are closed.