Welcome to the real world

It was all the talk in motions court this morning.

Yesterday was spent waiting for the police to come to my office following a massive series of break-ins in our office building.

I’d known something was up when my secretary called to tell me they wouldn’t let her in the building on her arrival, but I was unable to get to the office for a couple of hours. When I did come, my office doors stood open, the furniture was all askew, there was a two-foot-square hole punched through my wall into the next office… I was horrified.

The police had come and gone by then, so we had to put in another call to catalog our losses. Like the other offices, we had lost unusual items, while more expensive things were left alone. The thieves missed a digital camera, a DVD player and TV, computers, other office equipment–but they took stamps. Lots and lots of stamps. And envelopes with my return address on them. And a box of pennies, but left the quarters.

All day, we prowled the office looking for explanation. Much discussion revolved around whether the culprit might be one of our opposing parties, who in domestic matters, often act irrationally and can be dangerous. Could one of those people have been in the office? Was there more damage we had yet to discover? Would they be back?

Just as many people say in these situations, it left us feeling violated and unsafe. Vulnerable. Who’s watching our offices for a weak spot? Did someone trash the other office to distract from a larger crime in ours? Or vice versa? (I obviously read/watch too much crime drama.)

So it was apparently good news that they caught the woman–woman?!? That was a shock in itself considering she kicked through two walls. Nonetheless, she was not familiar to us and seemed to have obvious motive for her random spree. The buzz is that she didn’t act alone, but so far she’s the face of the problem. For our purposes, we don’t have to worry that this was aimed at us or at our clients.

The building owner came and changed the locks before I left yesterday and even swept up the drywall mess himself. The Cabana Boy took off work early and came home to help out. So we’re back on track again.

All the same, there’s a lot more looking over our shoulders, and attention paid to strangers. We’re a little jumpy. The world is a little less friendly today. And that’s a shame.

6 thoughts on “Welcome to the real world

  1. That would be sooo scary. I work in a bank so I understand that jumpy feeling. Not long ago banks all around us were getting robbed. It was the work of two seperate, unrelated, people but tensions were pretty high for a while. The closest they got to us was by stealing a car out of our parking lot for a get a way car for a bank down the road.

    At least they caught the woman involved and hopefully she was the only one involved. Go home tonight, love your family and settle with a book other than a crime drama 🙂

  2. It’s always disconcerting when you are the victim of a crime but– count your blessings! You weren’t shot at by drug dealers this time!

    Be safe… take care of you and remember that you got through that really horrible shoot out and you’ll get back to feeling safe again soon.

  3. I agree interesting was not quite the word for your life. I’m trying to find the right word but I know what it is not and that is “boring”.

    My Lord I remembered your tale about your experience in Florida.

    I am sure you’ll remain jumpy for a little while. Thank the Lord they found the culprit. I find the envelops theft quite creepy and the two foot hole just frightening.

    Life can change so fast. Glad you are safe.

  4. Yikes! This sounds terrifying, even if not directly aimed at you or your clients. When something like this happens, all sorts of scenarios seem to race through our minds, all the what-ifs that we normally push out as we trudge on, bravely defending what we believe in. I think we examine the places we doubt the most in ourselves. But you are all right, thankfully, and maybe feeling more vulnerable–but really, you are probably a lot stronger.

  5. Wow! You’ve had enough crime in your life to last a lifetime!

    It’s sad when we realize the world isn’t the safest place. We so often lull ourselves into believing all people are good, all things are good. But then we get hit in the face and realize it’s not always that way.

    Am so glad the damage wasn’t worse.

    Thanks–and I have to admit we are spoiled here, because there is very little crime, particularly serious crime. Most people still don’t even lock their doors at home. But yes–if that means I’ve had my share and I can be done, make it so! 🙂

  6. Again, why is it that I have to read about this on your blog and you won’t talk to me about it?

    Awesome.

    My dear child, no one was hurt and it ended up all right. I know you’re carrying three people’s loads on your own plate…you’ll hear about the important things. 🙂

Comments are closed.