Still walking those streets

“Writing is like prostitution. First you do it for love, and then for a few close friends, and then for money.” — Moliere

After the joy that was NaNoWriMo last November, when my family and I agreed I could throw everything into those 30 days and write a novel, I’ve worked on many writing projects, including this blog, in off-hours from real life. This week, I have permission to enter the writing life at full throttle again–and I’m grabbing it with both hands.

Oh yes, there are a few client matters to be handled first, and a round of doctor visits for the kiddies, but those are under control. The real business of the week is the Pennwriters Conference, including the special fiction seminar spanning the day Thursday. Ah, sweet abandon. To be surrounded in a place with 450 others as enamored of this vice as I, to speak of it day and night, to learn techniques and shortcuts and formats, to steep in its heady liquor until–

Whoa. I’m getting carried away already. Sorry about that.

Where was I? Oh yeah. Making connections. When I went to my first conference a number of years ago, I was really a fish out of water. Since then, I’ve met a number of folk of the Pennwriters persuasion either online or in person, so I’m a little more familiar. I’m also published regularly now; then I’d been practicing law a little more full-time. I have spiffy business cards from my Firefox gig. I have a blog and a whole new cadre of friends. I’m an author with a book under my belt and a story in another coming out in December.

I have a literary agent– a new development last week that was VERY exciting. My agent read my NaNovel with the autistic heroine and it clicked with her–because she, too, has an autistic child. Serendipity. Her comment was this: “What better way to encourage understanding than through a fictional and incredibly interesting YA novel?” What better way indeed?

At the conference, I have a PennPal–this means I’ve been appointed as the guide and gopher for one of their celebrity guests, in my case Keith R. A. DeCandido. So I’m excited about that, though I don’t even know where it might lead. At least we can commiserate over the loss of my dear Firefly as we curse the Fox Network over a few drinks.

I have an appointment to pitch my novel to Melanie Donovan of HarperCollins Children’s Division. How often do we get to see a real editor face to face? Everyone knows editors don’t put their pants on one leg at a time! Eeek! I haven’t practiced my elevator pitch yet, but I’m giving myself time to do that this week. Maybe I can get it down to a two-floor long speech.

So yes, I’m getting ready to sell myself. I’m even getting my hair done. But I don’t think I’ll be selling myself short. Wish me luck.

10 thoughts on “Still walking those streets

  1. Seriously? You get to be his guide? The French Boy is totally in love with his IKS Gorkon Star Trek series. How much to get you to ask for an autographed book so I can give it to my French Boy for an aniversary gift? Just kidding, other mom…I know that would probably be not professional. It really is amusing to see the French Boy constantly checking to see when the next one in the series is comming out, though. I’m trying to get him to read the other books I have, too.

    Have fun at your confrence. It sounds like it is going to be just absolutly wonderful. You can just relax and learn some new things and just enjoy yourself.

    Also, I know I’m a day late, but Happy Mother’s Day, Other Mom…and sorry for all the bad spelling here. Coffee hasn’t reached my brain yet.

  2. All wonderful! How exciting on every level. I hope at the week you sink into a satisfied exhaustion.

  3. you sound like you have a lot of exciting things in store for you. i am glad i found your blog…i am also a writer and i have a son who has autism. i will have to read more of you.

  4. Congratulations! Although i realize these may be baby steps, they may also be GIANT STEPS! Your dedication – and the support of your family – is lovely!

  5. What an interesting life you have. I checked out your Firefox gig. The Abyss light is different indeed. A Cup of Comfort looks like a comfortable read indeed. I often wish I had a sister.

    Congrats with the conference and the meeting with the HarperCollins editor.

    Interesting? That’s not a word I usually use in that context. Maybe I’ll have to reconsider. 🙂

  6. I wish you very good luck too, even I am convinced that you don’t need it. You are a very good and entertaining writer, and I´m sure that publishers soon will be fighting about your scripts!

  7. How Exciting!! You are too Cool!! 🙂

    We’ve been trying to pitch a children’s book for the last couple of years and it’s gone no where… oh well! Once you’re published we’ll have to ride your tailcoats— or at least say I knew you when… 🙂

    Congrats! Go go Girl!! And, let us know how it goes! Buyahhh!

  8. Hi Babs,

    Great post from one of my favorite bloggers, thanks for all your work and good luck on your future projects. 🙂

Comments are closed.