On true connections

One of the side effects I’ve noticed of our having special children is that we have ‘hermitized’ ourselves. We tend to be insular and stick together and don’t socialize with others, particularly the families we know with neurotypical children the same ages as ours. It saves a lot of explanation. That’s not to say we don’t have a social life. Ours just tends to be cybernetic.

The Internet has been the center of my social life for nearly ten years. I met my husband there, as his character encountered mine in an online RPG where we still play. We have, in turn, sought out many of the people we’ve met online and met them in real life. They are delightful, and no less our friends because we didn’t meet them at the corner bar or grocery store.

Since I’ve started this blog, I’ve met a number of individuals, some of whom are in a similar situation to mine regarding children, but many others are just interesting and articulate and I like them. We’ve shared brief but meaningful moments in passing. It’s a connection.

One of these connections tagged me last week, at
A Broader Mark

It’s taken this long for me to figure out how to reply appropriately, because I’m still learning all the lingo, but here goes:

Okay, here are the rules (copied straight from the blog of the one who tagged me.)
Once you are tagged, link back to the person who tagged you.
Post the rules on your blog.
Post 7 random or weird facts about yourself on your blog.
Tag 7 people and link to them.
Comment on their blog to let them know they have been tagged.

Here are my seven facts.
1. I met my husband on the Internet. Neither of us is an axe murderer. Yet.
2. I am allergic to hairy caterpillars and microfilm.
3. I’ve sung in a nightclub lounge with a band.
4. I’ve had ‘sand in my shoes’ ever since living in South Florida.
5. I’ve written two vampire novels.
6. I think Picard is a better captain than Kirk.
7. Only my hairdresser knows for sure.

My seven victims CONNECTIONS are the following:

My 2008 Blog

Family Adventures

The Herbal Connection

ByJane

What We Need

The Casual Gardener

Whoa Bam Reno

So now we find out more about these friends and relatives, perhaps more than we should, perhaps more than we want to. But we’re staying connected. Tag, you’re the IT girls!

7 thoughts on “On true connections

  1. Hi again, Other Mom! Greetings from 2 of your internet kids, who also aren’t axe murders. (Was a close thing though, over the holidays. Retail, you know.)

    Speaking of socializing…give us a call. We miss you, and we haven’t come to visit in years.

  2. Thanks for the tag. I can’t wait to do this. Have to give it a little thought.

    What a great list you have. My 16 year old daughter loves vampire novels. I often read her favorites in order to maintain our connection, have something to talk about that is not me telling her to do this or that.

  3. Hey, just browsing around…I love your site about your writing. I feel quite inspired. Are you still located in Western Pa? I’m from around those parts…

  4. I’ve done a couple of these, but I’ll see if I can dig a little deeper and find a few more weird facts. You never know!

    It’s been great to connect with you, too! I met G. on the Internet, as well, and I have many friends I have met online who now come visit.

  5. Thanks for the game of tag, awalkabout! You know, it’s funny because I’m one of those moms with neurotypical kids and yet I see a real tendency in myself to “hermitize” too. I often find myself sticking with my “own kind” and purposely passing up opportunites to interact, on anything other than a superficial level, with people who aren’t “like me”. It’s such a silly thought, though, that people who share some of the same life circumstances, struggles and challenges are necessarily the same people who will click with us in every other way, and on every other level. Sure, it’s good to have a group of friends who know just what you mean when it’s time to talk say, autism, in your case, or having lots of kids in mine. But those people may or may not be the ones who will teach us how to write better, or to be empathetic to the struggles of others, or to learn how to make a link from one blog to another. 😉 In any case, I’m glad for the “connection” we’ve made.

    I enjoy your writing!

    I’ll be back!

  6. Yup, good points, for sure. I have more good friends from internet groups and such than in real life sometimes! You found a really great way to tie this post into your general blog, and as soon as I figure out how to do that along with how to post a link I’ll be playing! LOL! I’m such a blogging idiot…have no idea how to do most of this stuff!

Comments are closed.