The Things We Celebrate

Not so long ago, my daughter came home from school with a stern note from her teacher: she’d kicked a boy in the crotch in the lunch line.

We were ecstatic.

(I can hear all the parents out there cringe. Literally.)

Let me explain. The important part of the story is WHY Little Miss found it necessary to kick this boy. She did it because he was picking on her friend, a boy smaller and younger than they are, and she was defending him.

For your average student, this may not be surprising. For a child with autism to have that much empathy and take action on someone else’s behalf– amazing. Another major step in her emotional recovery.

So we gave her the standard company line on the inappropriateness of kicking her classmates. Then later we all cheered quietly. A lot.

8 thoughts on “The Things We Celebrate

  1. Thanks! 🙂 It’s something that we all understand but it’s sometimes hard to explain to the parents of the NT kids, you know? Like, ‘gee I’m sorry my child just lied to you about that, but ISN’T IT GREAT!!!’

    babs

  2. I love it – the minute I started reading I knew you were cheering because it’s the kind of thing we celebrate! I love it, love it, love it. Warms me to the core.

    Darcy

  3. Boy do I know what you are talking about. We have worked hard on getting Matty to learn to defend himself or those he loves.

    WTG Little Miss!!!

  4. I have a son who is hearing impaired, dyslexic and has touch disorder syndrome. At the age of 5, he only had 30 words of vocabulary. His primary method of communication was to punch or kick people. Since he’s very strong, I lived in a great deal of fear that some day it would hurt someone badly. I remember thinking….I wish I had a kid who got in trouble because of his smart mouth or for swearing at someone. Eight years later, it happened! It’s hard to explain to “normal parents” why we were celebrating the fact that our son just said “F….you” to someone he was mad at. Perhaps someday we closet celebrators can come out!

  5. I don’t have an autistic child; so I must confess when I read the first part of your post I was a little confused. But by the time I had finished reading it, you had warmed my heart. Reading things like this makes me feel so thankful for my kids, but it also allows me to step into your shoes for a split second–and it gives me a different perspective on things. This different perspective is, I think, so helpful in making me be a better parent. Thank you for sharing, and I hope you continue to share moments like this!

Comments are closed.